About the Memorial

The Anzac Memorial is administered by a Board of Trustees appointed under the Anzac Memorial (Building) Act 1923. The Trustees are responsible for the management, maintenance and preservation of the Anzac Memorial as New South Wales’ principal war memorial.

The Trustees' vision is "To promote, maintain and enhance the Anzac Memorial as the State's principal commemorative and interpretive monument dedicated to the service and sacrifice of Australians in peace and war.

The Trustees' mission is " To maximise the Anzac Memorial's potential as a space for the veteran community, inform all visitors and to educate future generations."

On this day

On this day
13 August

1921 — “Royal” prefix added to Australian Air Force title

1940 — Ten people, including three members of the Australian Cabinet, Chief of General Staff Sir C. White, and other Senior Officers, are killed in aircraft crash near Canberra, later known as the Canberra Air Disaster. The Air Base, RAAF Base Fairbairn, is named after James Valentine Fairbairn, Minister for Air and Civil Aviation, one of those Caninet Ministers killed in the crash

1941 — Government approves formation of Australian Women’s Army Service (AWAS)