The Trustees and the Anzac Memorial Act 1923

The Anzac Memorial is overseen by a Board of Trustees responsible for the management, maintenance and preservation of the Memorial as NSW's principal war memorial. Its significance is reflected in the unique composition of its board with the positions of Premier and Leader of the Opposition, Lord Mayor of Sydney, State President of the RSL (NSW Branch), the Government Architect, State Librarian and Secretary of the Department of Education, Australian Defence Force, veterans and community representatives all legislated Trustees with the Anzac Memorial Act 1923.

On this day

On this day
30 January

1942 — Japanese troops attacked AMBON, Netherlands East Indies, (Indonesia). Australian troops of “Gull Force” and about 2,600 NEI soldiers tried to defend the island but were defeated

1951 — Women’s Royal Australian Air Force formed

1968 — The TET OFFENSIVE began in Vietnam. A series of co-ordinated attacks by communist forces were defeated but the Offensive proved to be a propaganda  victory for the communists, accelerating the American public’s growing opposition to the war. Australian troops of 2nd, 3rd, and 7th Battalions, Royal Australian Regiment were involved in the Offensive